top of page
  • Writer's picturemikeofthepalace

"What Kings Ate and Wizards Drank" by Krista D. Ball

My biggest food related problem is that the Super Stop & Shop within walking distance of my house doesn't carry one kind of cookie I really like, so once and awhile I'll drive the 10 minutes to the Shop-Rite and buy a few boxes. But if I need a kiwi or a jar of molasses at 3:30 a.m. on a Sunday in January, that's no problem at all. Go America.


This was an interesting book to read. There's a great deal about food that we all take for granted, and while I've learned enough over the years that nothing in this shocked me, it still left me thoughtful. It was also a lot of fun to read, as I would expect from Krista Ball.


It also reminded me why, the time I played a D&D campaign where the DM was rigorous about food and carry weight issues, I very quickly took a feat that meant I didn't need to eat or drink. While I appreciate realism, there are times I want to just not worry about it and enjoy the story.

0 comments
bottom of page