top of page
  • Writer's picturemikeofthepalace

“Age of Ash” by Daniel Abraham

This is a little tough to rank. I think it’s objectively quite a good book, but I also feel it’s Abraham’s worst. This says more about my generally high opinion of his other stuff (Dagger & Coin, Long Price, coauthor of the Expanse) than anything, but it nevertheless colored my read here.


The premise here is intriguing. The events take place entirely within one city, and cover the events of one year. Books 2 and 3, according to Abraham, will be the same city and the same year, but from the perspective of different characters. Only when all three are read will we understand the entire story. It’s an interesting way to set things up, and one that has me very interested.


Where this fell a little short for me was that I just wasn’t invested in the main character enough. She was fine, but her friend (whom I’d call the secondary protagonist) was much more interesting in my opinion.


The ending was satisfying, but also … not. The protagonist’s journey came to a satisfying enough conclusion, but I have many outstanding questions. I’m going to read the others in the trilogy, because I have faith in Daniel Abraham and am quite curious to see how this all works. But I find myself wondering (and I hate saying this, but I’m willing to because Abraham is hardly a struggling newcomer) if it wouldn’t be better to wait until all three are out and binge read.

0 comments
bottom of page